Alli Reviews

Community Rating:

3.0 / 5.0

Editor's Rating:

3.6 / 5.0
alli
By Derek Peterson
February 8, 2010

Alli is a weight loss supplement that has been widely advertised on television and in magazines. Some of the commercials go so far as to say that Alli “can help you lose 50% more weight than you would with diet and exercise alone.”

Sounds pretty good doesn’t it?

Alli (aka Orlistat) is one of the most widely known weight loss pills today. It’s marketed as the easy solution for losing those stubborn pounds and keeping them off permanently when used in conjunction with a healthy diet and regular exercise.

Our question is whether or not Alli can help you gain an edge on your weight loss or if this product is all hype.

How Does Alli Work?

As with so many other diet pills, Alli is engineered to decrease the absorption of fat in the intestines, meaning that you can eat your favorite foods without completely blowing your calorie count for the day.

Alli achieves this effect by inhibiting the enzyme Lipase, which can help break down dietary fat into smaller components (which are then either broken down for energy or turned into fat). In theory, the undigested fats will be too big to be absorbed, so they’ll pass harmlessly through the digestive tract until it is eliminated through bowel movements.

You can take Alli alongside your favorite meals (up to 3 times a day).

Potential Risks

Although such a technique is definitely an effective tool for weight loss, consumers should be aware that this magic bullet cannot compensate for poor food choices. Alli manufacturers recommend that you eat no more than 15 grams of fat with each meal, otherwise, you may be in for some extremely unpleasant side effects.

These effects include increased and sudden flatulence, oily anal discharge, loose stools or diarrhea, more frequent bowel movements and hard-to-control bowel movements.

These are not typical side effects for a weight loss supplement, and they could prove especially embarrassing due to their sporadic nature. This product would also be a terrible choice for anyone with gastrointestinal issues or problems absorbing foods.

Additionally, keep in mind that because Alli is designed to block food from being absorbed, it can also block essential nutrients as well. Be certain to supplement your diet with additional vitamins to ensure that you don’t suffer from vitamin deficiencies.

What Else You Should Know

In 2009, the FDA decided to investigate Orlistat due to unusual reports of serious liver injury. Their research did not uncover any known cause and effect relationship between Alii and these rare cases, but just in case, Alli manufacturers warn consumers to discontinue use if they experience unusual side effects such as itching, loss of appetite, yellow eyes or skin, light-colored stool, or brown urine – all of which are symptoms of liver damage.

Final Thoughts

Alli is one of the most popular diet pills on the market because it definitely has the potential to work when used alongside a healthy diet and regular exercise. We applaud Alli manufacturers for encouraging healthy long-term practices and diet programs.

However, at this time we feel that the risks far outweigh the potential benefits of using Alli, and we cannot whole-heartedly recommend Alli to consumers.

  • Comment Pages:
  • 1
  • 2

User Submitted Reviews

Community Rating:
3.0 / 5.0

Show

sambo | June 29, 2012
never again!!!!

been on alli for 2 days and apart from very loose stools i had intense itching episodes and scratched so much i looked like i had hives all over my body !!! must have had an allergic reaction????

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Ron | March 10, 2011
works well with my lifestyle

I have been taking Alli for a week. In conjunction with a reasonable diet of approximately 1500 calories and low fat, I have lost 4 lb. Some may say that well, with that kind of diet you are sure to lose weight. I have been on similar and loss is much less. I’m still cautious and need to see how I do over a month or so but for now..very incouraged.

2 of 3 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

kryztals | November 27, 2010
not for me

am naturally fat, i dont eat that much fat, so alli did pratically nothing for me, i wont recommended, unless you are the type that eats alot, then it might help…

1 of 1 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Light Fittings · | November 4, 2010

low fat foods are very necessary for our well being, our bodies just hate fats ~

0 of 1 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Jesica | September 12, 2010
I've lost weight doing very little on alli

During my pregnancy I reached 210 & after a year of sorta trying on my own I got down to 197. I was unhappy about this & decided to read reviews on different weightloss products. I will admit it was the treatment affects of this product that made me decide to use it. The thought of “messing” myself if I cheated is terrifying & that’s what I needed, something to scare the weight off of me. I started alli 3 months ago and have lost 22 pounds. Most people wouldn’t be happy with those results but for me that’s a miracle. Oh and did I mention that’s with no exercise, just eating better. I hate to exercise but after seeing the results without it I’m now wanting to see the results with it. Alli has also made dieting bearable for me. 1 day a week I give myself a cheat day. I can eat whatever I choose, such as a slice of pie or a burger. I don’t panic or feel terrible about myself afterwards because I take the pill & know I’m not absorbing all the fat. I have never soiled myself but the oily mess in the toilet is a wonderful site. This product has made me aware of the foods I eat & has even got me thinking of working out! It is a great product

5 of 5 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

anastasia | September 12, 2010
questions need ANSWERS!

So today was my second day on Alli. Yesterday I ate
less than 15 grams of fat per meal (2 meals) and had no side effects. Today on the other hand. Well I tried. But it was my cousins birthday. I wouldn’t say I had “meals”. we just snaked throughout the afternoon on appetizers. They were pretty fatty. And I have had hardly any side effects. I am only some what gassy. And it concerns me for some reason that I am not having a stronger reaction. But I am still confused how I am suppose to take Alli and when. Before or after meals? and how long should I wait on it?! help!

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Ellen of North Carolina | September 3, 2010
Alli Good way to test current eating habits

Just started taking Alli. I had been cutting back on food intake and exercising vigorously at least 5 times a week for about six months and lost 15 pounds. However, after that (with no change in food/exercise habits) I couldn’t seem to lose a thing for several months so I thought I would try Alli as a supplement. I know I have to continue to watch the food intake and also exercise. I need to lose about 15 more pounds (20 would be better, but I have to be realistic as to what I can maintain).
I haven’t had any side effects yet. I think I have already been eating fairly low fat. (I don’t eat beef, pork, or chicken, so no Big Macs). It is interesting to see whether what I have been eating is appropriately low fat, so I am not changing my diet at this point. (However, I am more aware of avoiding any really high fat foods).

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

RosaV | August 10, 2010
I came down with a cold

I started this product yesterday morning.
I had one pill for breakfast and one pill for lunch and then I was going to take one for dinner, but I noticed I wasn’t feeling well. My knee bones were aching and all of a sudden i was feeling like I was coming down with a cold. My throat started to hurt and my nose was congested. Today, I woke up feeling still sick, but without knee aches. I decided to take the pill with my breakfast this morning in hopes that its not the pill and just a bug I’ve catched. If, my knees start to hurt again, then I know its the pill. Ive been lucky and I have not experienced any horror bm. Everything good thus far.
I want to know if anyone has also experience this before?
I also did take my vitimins like I was suppose to.
I just dont understand if my immune system dropped or what.
Thanks guys!!

0 of 1 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Mel | August 3, 2010
Worked For Me

I was on Alli for three months. I am a women who has struggled with my weight since before I can remember. I started at the weight of 154 and after four months on the pill I am at the weight of 139. I did not take Alli every single day nor did I do any type of workout but I did follow the food intake instructions.

I really believe Alli is a great product. I have tried every weight loss or diet suppliment under the sun and truly found this one to work!

8 of 9 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Christina | July 22, 2010
Has worked well for me

I have been taking it along with Trim Spa for about a month. I am following the Weight Watchers meals plan and have been walking about 3-4 miles a day and I have lost almost 20 pounds in a month.

I only notice bowel issues if I cheat and eat something I shouldnt. You cant eat higher fat foods and think nothing is going to happen. If I stick to low fat foods, I have no problems.

6 of 6 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

bastard | June 16, 2010
Your an IDIOT!

OKAY APPERENTLY NO ONE DID THEIR HOME WORK.
ONE ALLI BLOCKS 25-30% OF THE FAT IN A MEAL THE YOU CONSUME.
TWO IF YOU EAT A MEAL WITH 30 GRAMS OF FAT WHILE TAKING ALLI, ALLI WILL BLOCK 5-10 GRAMS OF THAT FAT FROM BEING ABSURBED BY YOUR BODY.
THREE, THAT YELLOW OILY STUFF COMING OUT OF YOUR A$$ IS THE FAT THAT WAS NOT ABSURBED BY YOUR BODY, ARE YOU FOLLOWING ALONG.
FOUR, ALLI INSTRUCTIONS SAYS WITH MEALS TRY NOT TO EAT NO MORE THAN 15GRAMS OF FAT IN THAT MEAL TO AVOID SIDE EFFECTS.

ALL DIET PILLS CLAIM RESULTS WITH A BALANCE DIET AND EXERCISE. BUT ALLI IS THE ONLY FDA APPROVE DIET PILL THAT ARE TRUE TO THAT CLAIM. SERIOULY LADIES STOP BEING A IDIOT LOOKING FOR A MIRICLE DRUG TO LOOSE WEIGHT GET IN THE GYM AND WATCH WHAT YOU PUT IN YOUR MOUTH.

“SIX PACK STARTS IN THE KITCHEN”

14 of 26 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Kelley | June 1, 2010
Former ALLI user

If you follow the diet- record everything you eat, take the pill and work out, you will lose a LOT of weight. I lost almost 40lbs with the aid of alli. I had to stop taking it. I was taking it and having gallbladder issues. When I first went to the E.R my liver function was so off, they thought I had hepititis. It was never determined but after being off alli my liver function returned to normal. I have since read articles about alli and liver function. I have since gained back all my weight and I am considering taking it again- It worked that well.

5 of 6 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Show

Share Your Review For Alli

Your review must be at least 50 characters