CytoSport Muscle Milk Reviews

Community Rating:

3.9 / 5.0

Editor's Rating:

0.0 / 5.0
musclemilkprotein
By Derek Peterson
February 6, 2010

“Muscle Milk.” It’s a catchy name, but does it work? Developed by CytoSport, Muscle Milk is supposed to promote muscle gains, more muscle strength, greater endurance, and faster recovery.

The great thing about this product is that it’s not just for serious body builders. Anyone from the average gym rat to a professional athlete could use and appreciate it.

Ingredients in CytoSport Muscle Milk

CytoSport Muscle Milk has a blend of proteins including calcium caseinate, milk protein isolate, whey protein isolate, whey peptides, L-Glutamine, and Taurine. We usually say that the more types of protein a supplement has the better. Some types of protein are fast-absorbing. Others are slow so you feel the effects longer. In short, your body gets more benefits and better results when it has several types of protein to work with.

Even though it has so much protein, the good news is that CytoSport Muscle Milk is lactose free. This makes it a great option for people who are lactose-intolerant but still want to use a protein supplement.

The Facts About CytoSport Muscle Milk

CytoSport Muscle Milk has 32 grams of protein in every serving. Since you are supposed to take 2 servings a day, you will get more than 100% of your Daily Value of protein when you take it. Because it uses a variety of protein in such a large dose, CytoSport Muscle Milk is one of the better protein supplements that we’ve seen.

Users seem to think so too. Out of 850+ customer reviews, CytoSport Muscle Milk received an average rating of 8.7 out of 10, which is excellent. People who loved the supplement said that it tastes great and helped with muscle building and recovery. Only a small number of users gave it a rating lower than 7.

Directions for Use

You are supposed to take 2 scoops (one serving) with 10-12 oz. of water. One serving should be taken an hour before your workout and a second serving should be take an hour after your workout. Since a 2.47 lbs. container of CytoSport Muscle Milk has 16 servings, it may only last for 8 days. You can purchase a container that holds 4.94 lbs. or 32 servings.

Cost & Money Back Guarantee

When you purchase CytoSport Muscle Milk from the official retailer, the price for 2.47 lbs. is $53.49 and there is no charge for shipping. We usually recommend that you purchase from official retailers because they offer return policies or money back guarantees. CytoSport does not so you would be better off purchasing this supplement from other online retailers who sell it for as low as $22.

Our Opinion

CytoSport Muscle Milk receives better customer reviews than most protein supplements that we come across. It has a good combination of proteins and several other essential and nonessential amino acids.

The downside is that it doesn’t last very long, which makes it pricier; and it doesn’t come guaranteed so you won’t get a refund. We know of products that have great formulas, higher ratings, better prices, and 100% money back guarantees. Myotein fits that description perfectly. We recommend that you try Myotein or another top-rated supplement rather than CytoSport Muscle Milk.

User Submitted Reviews

Community Rating:
3.9 / 5.0

Show

Carson | March 24, 2011
Great for adding Muscle

I’ve been using Muscle Milk for the past couple years off and on. I’ve found that when I use it immediately following my workout I notice a much more rapid improvement. Growing up I was always a very skinny kid, but after I started using Muscle Milk I was able to put on 20 lbs of much needed weight and muscle. I would not recommend this to anyone who is trying to LOSE weight due to the high calorie content, but it seems to work great for adding muscle mass. However, if you do use MM on a regular basis, be sure that you are putting in the effort to exercise and burn those calories, otherwise the proteins will not be put to good use. I recommend the Cookies & Cream powder, it tastes like something I would drink anytime!

2 of 2 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Tom of California | March 13, 2011
Great taste Good results

Ive been working out regularly for 8 months. I started taking MM about a month ago. In that month I’ve cut a full minute off my best mile. Im doing 40% more sit ups than before and rowing twice as far on the row machine. Ive lost 8 lbs and am starting to notice my abs for the first time in my life. You have to do the hard work for yourself but MM gives you the energy to push harder and longer than you would without it.

3 of 3 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Mason from VA | March 6, 2011
taste matches results...awesome

Of all the other proteins I’ve tried MM is the best tasting and gave the best results. If mixed in the right proportions it does indeed taste great. It knocks down the soreness level after a serious workout and is a great meal replacement. Ive tried whey proteins and they never really did much and tasted terrible. MM will only leave me feeling bloated if a chug 15 oz of milk and MM in 5 seconds. Best policy is to drink it like a soda…make it last about 10 minutes or so.

1 of 1 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Susan Frissora | March 4, 2011

People with LACTOSE INTOLERANCE, BEWARE. Muscle milk is MISLABELED. It states it is “lactose free” and “contains no milk.” Based on these LABELS I purchased it and gave it to my son, who is lactose intolerant. Within an hour he was in pain and when I looked at the ingredients, this product contains BOTH milk protein isolate AND whey – both are ingredients which contain lactose and CANNOT be digested correctly by people with lactose intolerance. I am really disappointed that the people at MUSCLE MILK weren’t more careful with their labeling and I am want to let others know before their child suffers the way mine did, despite my efforts to give him a lactose free product. I tried contacting the company but they are closed right now, so will try again.

3 of 7 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Fred | November 15, 2010

it was disgusting from the first time i tasted it

5 of 10 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Tyler | August 1, 2010
yes

I just started muscle milk, and i am trying to loose weight but gain muscle mass to should i stick to this stuff or does somebody have a better idea for me?

2 of 4 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Cory | July 25, 2010

I tried Muscle Milk a few years back. The taste was good, but the powder caused a stimulative effect. I felt a little dizzy with it.

1 of 2 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Bill | July 5, 2010
Muscle Milk heavy metals

Consumer Reports (7/2010 issue)says Muscle Milk is high in lead and asrsenic.

8 of 13 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Clay of Rhode Island, USA | May 23, 2010
Best tasting...period

I think if the Vanilla Creme wasn’t even good for me, I would still buy it. Both the ready-to-drink and the powder are extremely good, so it leaves me wondering if I’m drinking the same thing as the guys saying it’s disgusting and full of lactose. FYI-It’s lactose free. Being cheap and full of casein protein, it’s a good thing to drink before you go to bed, cuz it keeps you in a muscle-repairing state while you sleep.

4 of 5 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Mark of Illinois, USA | November 5, 2009
The best overall

ive been working out consistently for a year now and have gone from benching 150 to 385 lbs…i weigh 220, this stuff is cheap, tastes great, mixes easily and has produced for me. it is the only supplement i take other than no explode. i have tried 5 other proteins and will never switch from this stuff..only drawback is the high cals and fat…HIGHLY RECCOMEND

9 of 11 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Robyn of Connecticut, USA | October 26, 2009

I have been using Muscle Milk for about a year, during this time I developed heart palpitaions. Went to dr. they found nothing wrong. It finally occured to me it might be the muscle milk and I when I stopped using it, the palpitations stopped too. Then I waited about 3 weeks, no palipations then used it and they returned. I would not recommend anyone using this product.

11 of 22 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Chris of Texas, USA | October 25, 2009
Delicious

In addition to the fact that this is the only protein mix I’ve tried that hasn’t left me feeling somewhat bloated, it mixes very well and tastes great. Although I haven’t been using it long enough to seriously consider the benefits it’s had on my muscular and weightlifting progress, I used it as a meal replacement before my shift at work tonight, and I had very consistent energy.

2 of 3 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Show

Share Your Review For CytoSport Muscle Milk

Your review must be at least 50 characters