Hydroxycut Product Reviews - See User Reviews & Ratings

Hydroxycut Reviews

Community Rating:

3.2 / 5.0

Editor's Rating:

4.0 / 5.0
Hydroxycut
Derek Peterson
By Derek Peterson
February 6, 2010

Most of you have heard of Hydroxycut and for good reason.

It’s one of the most recognized weight loss supplement brands in the world. Chew on this: around 2009 they were selling about a million units a year. Wow!

I’ll say this about Hydroxycut – their marketing is effective and they’re cashing in as a result. Their products are fairly solid – some better than others – but the strong marketing approach has helped them capture a good portion of the market. To be quite frank, any examination of Hydroxycut should be more about savvy marketing than anything else.

But don’t assume that brand recognition equals a sure-fire product. That can be a common consumer misconception. Again, Hydroxycut has a staple of solid products (many of those we review below) but in some cases you can find better value with less brand recognition.

Recommended: Click Here to See the Top Rated Fat Burners

Quick History

Before moving onto the numerous Hydroxycut reviews, let’s take a quick trip down the history highway. Entering the scene in the late 90’s, Hydroxycut made its first big splash during the heyday of the ephedra-based product boom. However, in 2009 the FDA slapped them with a warning after some Hydroxycut products were linked to liver damage and rhabdomyolysis. Hydroxycut recalled all the problematic products, and then quickly changed the formulas before putting them back on the market.

Yet this wasn’t the first time Hydroxycut has been under scrutiny. In June of 2003 the New York Times found that MuscleTech officials (the makers of Hydroxycut) weren’t as forthcoming about their products as they should be. (Fessenden, Ford (June 23, 2003). “Studies of Dietary Supplements Come Under Growing Scrutiny”. The New York Times. Retrieved 2009-05-02.)

Here’s another read on Hydroxycut’s complicated history.

Even with a long history of products being banned and recalled, this brand continues to develop some of the most popular supplements on the market. You’ll see hundreds of Hydroxycut reviews on dozens of consumer product review sites like ours. Because of the company’s size it’ll continue to be under our watchful eye. Yet despite all their marketing efforts, pound for weight-loss pound other products like the aforementioned Fenphedrine are just as good, and perhaps in a case like Fenphedrine, better.

Consumer Treatment

Consumer treatment is where we examine how the product manufacture takes care of the consumer’s needs. We rate everything on a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the obvious best. The consumer support system for Hydroxycut is terrible; there’s no way to sugarcoat it.

 

Website: 8

Based on the amount time they put into marketing, I would have been shocked if they had skimped on their website. So no shock, it’s clear and easy to use. You can easily browse the numerous products Hydroxycut offers. But because they offer so many products it might take you a while (assuming you enter the individual product page through Hydroxycut’s main page) to actually find the product you’re looking for. Check out the recipes they offer via a specific tab on the website. You might find some good diet options there.

I would have liked them to mention on their main landing page any money-back guarantees they offer or even post some type of contact information for customer service. I see none of that. Do they have a customer support network? Poor decision on Hydroxycut’s part; perhaps, a decision so poor that it would drive me away from recommending anybody to purchase from them.

Customer Service: 0

Does Hydroxycut even offer such a thing? I don’t see anything. I get that they sell most of their stuff through third party retailers like GNC and such, but still, no way to contact them about product questions? Bad idea.

Money-back Guarantee: 0

Hydroxycut, itself – as far as I can tell – does not offer a money-back guarantee on their products. For any type of monetary protection you will have to rely on the third party retailer and their money-back policy, which is another thing I don’t care much for. A company should always offer some type of guarantee, if nothing else to show they stand behind their product(s). I very, very, rarely recommend products where the manufacture doesn’t offer some type of return policy. If Hydroxycut does offer a guarantee, they need to publish that somewhere on the main page with easy links to how the product can be returned.

Hydroxycut Products

Hydroxycut has something for everyone. Give ‘em credit for that. The minute they find a sliver of open market Product and Development hops on it and they quickly release something onto the market. As a result, there seems to be a billion different Hydroxycut products. A quick internet browse will show product lines for women, men, muscle builders, cleansers, dieters, and health nuts.

We’ve included several Hydroxycut reviews on our site to help you better understand the purpose of each product. Some have set themselves apart while others are just so-so. If you’re interested in finding out which product might work best for you, click on the reviews below for more information.

The Line-up

Hydroxycut 100% Premium Acai
Hydroxycut Advanced
Hydroxycut Brazilian Acai with Green Coffee Extract
Hydroxycut Caffeine Free
Hydroxycut Complete 7 Day Cleanse
Hydroxycut Fiber Full
Hydroxycut Hardcore Pro Series
Hydroxycut Hardcore X
Hydroxycut Max!
Hydroxycut Max! Advanced Rapid Release
Hydroxycut Max! Advanced
Hydroxycut Natural
Hydroxycut Premium Cleanse
Hydroxycut Pure Hoodia
Hydroxycut Shape
Hydroxycut South African Hoodia with Green Coffee Extract
Pro Clinical Hydroxycut Max!
Pro Clinical Hydroxycut

How Does Hydroxycut Compare

Here’s our honest assessment of Hydroxycut: they’re the world-wide leaders for one reason, marketing. They’ve made a significant investment in the brand and it’s paying off. But you don’t sell a lot of products on slick marketing alone. You need to have solid products, which they do. But they’re rarely any better than the other thousands of options available to consumers.  The bottom line is you probably can find something that works but I wouldn’t risk it.

 

User Submitted Reviews

6 out of 8 (75 %) Reviewers Recommend This Product

Community Rating:
3.2 / 5.0

Show

Caitlin | February 11, 2014

You can’t really give this a review after only taking it for a day or 2. I’m 2 weeks in and have already lost 5 pounds. I also have been on and off with eating healthy and going to the gym. It makes you feel jittery and gives you a lot of energy though.

Yes, I recommend this product

1 of 1 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

emilee | January 9, 2014

This is day 3 i love hydroxycut! i have zero desire to eat at all but i know i have to so i force myself i have a crazy amount of energy and i love it! Cant wait for results!

Yes, I recommend this product

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Melissa | December 5, 2013

For all of you out there that are on your first week of taking the pills give it time! I just bought my second bottle and have lost at least 10 pounds. You won’t feel much the first couple of days, maybe a little bit less hungry and a little more energized but like anything it will take some time to see true results. This product isn’t lipo it’s a gradual thing. Also, you still have to exercise it doesn’t do all the work for you, it’s there to assist in your weight loss. I have had a tremendous improvement. In my opinion if you expect too much out of it you will get nowhere. Will power is still a factor as well.. no snacking is hard but for this product to work it’s important. I recommend this product for those of us with busy schedules that do the best we can but need a little extra metabolism boost.

Yes, I recommend this product

1 of 1 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Sarah | August 16, 2013

Day one taking it. I’ve only taken for breakfast and lunch. At first my appetite wasn’t suppressed but I noticed when I feel snaky if I drink a full glass of H2o my appetite decreased. did get a little heart burn but only after I drank a cup of coffee, guess it was the extra boost of caffeine. The only time I feel jittery is after i worked out, but I’m assuming that’s normal due to the extra increase in heart rate. I feel like I have more energy and suppressed appetite with the extra water. Have urinated more, but you have to
Drink the extra water to flush out the toxins and fat so you can loose weight. Hope I can sleep tonight that’s why I skipped the dinner pill and I feel great at 1 twice a day so that’s what I’m sticking to since two 3xs a day got horrible reviews. Try & keep an updated status. Good luck!!

Yes, I recommend this product

1 of 1 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

NAW | August 10, 2013

Have been taking these for about 4 days. Not sure if they are working yet, but there claim that they don’t alter the taste is NOT TRUE! The powder tastes awful and does alter the taste of the food!

No, I do not recommend this product

0 of 1 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

nancy | July 27, 2013

Today is my first day on hydroxycut hardcore. I was very skeptical about taking it after reading many reviews. I took one capsule this morning then ate about 30 minutes later. I will say I did get jittery and felt like my skin was crawling. But that only lasted for about an hour or so. I have had to go go the bathroom more than I normally do. I have about 15 to 20 pounds to lose. I will try to post updates daily.

Yes, I recommend this product

1 of 1 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Sarah Lynn | July 20, 2013

I’m 25 and a mother of two. Started taking hydroxycut Max for women about four days ago. Yesterday was my first time moving to the two pills at a time.Yesterday morning I was fine but the second dose I thought I was dying. One min my heart felt like it was going to beat out my chest and then I felt very weak. To the point I turned white. My head was pounding & threw up a few times. I ended up at the hospital and honestly this was the worst experience I ever felt. I will never buy another bottle of diet pills.I rather bust my ass the hard way to lose weight then to ever feel like that again

No, I do not recommend this product

1 of 1 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Carly | June 24, 2013

Ok so started the hydroxy it advanced this morning after reading the reviews. Did feel a little worried taking it as read made you feel jittery anxious with fast heart rate. But decided to give ago. I took my first tablet at 820 this morning then had my breakfast at 845. By 9 I felt very racey my mouth went very dry. I jumped in the car to go gym feeling very agitated driving, couldn’t get their quick enough. Well that’s when it all started I used the equipment like never before, I normally work out an hour a day clock watching all the time. But today was different I really went for it before I knew it it was 11 20. Wheir did that time go. I come home still flying hands were shaky like Adrenalin running through me but must say I liked the shakes feeling. It’s now 220 and I have calmed down a lot. I think I will just stick to taking 1 a day for now after breakfast but only when I plan to work out. So defiantly had an effect. Just can’t wait to see results. Good luck new users

Yes, I recommend this product

1 of 1 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

gladis | February 26, 2013
Scary!

I bought this product because it says it could decrease my appetite. I started with 1 capsule before lunchtime at day 1 and experienced a decrease in appetite. I increased the dose to 2 capsules at day 2 and everything went horrible for me. I was naseous, i experienced palpitation, tremors, and instead of increased in energy, i felt so weak.
I guess it was because of the caffeine. Not worth it!!

0 of 1 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Alicia | February 6, 2013
SLOW success

Day 1, only took pills before breakfast & lunch. On Day 2 I had lost a pound. Day 3, weight stayed the same, only took a pill at breakfast. Day 4 (today) lost another half-pound from morning weight. So after 3 full days I have lost 1.5 lbs, have more energy, have a slightly lowered appetite, and I FEEL thinner somehow, even with such a small loss. The caffeine does make me a little extra jittery, tho I am no stranger to caffeine (trying not to drink any extra caffeine since starting). I did experience short bursts of nausea on day 2 and 3. I noticed I’ve gone to the bathroom about 1-2 times per day more often than usual since starting the pills. I have been trying to lose weight for a while and it was just not coming off! So I am impressed with the product so far. This was an $18 bottle of pills bought at Walmart… can’t remember the exact product type. I would recommend using while eating sensibly, exercise a little and pay attention to how you feel while GRADUALLY upping the amount of pills you take. I still have not been taking any before dinner, only breakfast and lunch.

2 of 2 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Amanda | January 9, 2013
Not worth the money

I have been taking this for 4 days now and its horrible. It does not make me less hungry but yet more hungry. I have less energy taking it and i have up the dose. I am very disgusted with this product.

1 of 1 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Sara | August 26, 2012
Love it so far

I’ve been taking the Hydoxycut CLA plus Weightloss Matrix for about a week now and have lost 5lbs. I take 1 pill in the morning and that’s it. It’s caffeine free so I don’t get the shakes too. Within about 2 days, I noticed that my appetite had decreased. Also, I have a pretty sedentary lifestyle so I’m doing a little slow-paced walking. So far so good.

8 of 8 People Found This Review Helpful

Was This Review Helpful?  Yes   No

Show

Share Your Review For Hydroxycut

Your review must be at least 50 characters